May 26 2003 – 157th day aboard – Ocho Rios

Jumped out of my bunk at 10:00 wide awake and pissed off about how I had to toss away one of my favourite shirts. Everything felt a little surreal as I waited around for an hour until a group of us (cast and crew) left together for an excursion to a river ride.

Several of us took a cab into the Jamaican hills, the sun already high and blazing above the trees. We reached a place where they offer inner tubes to use on the White River and we started our journey as a large convoy, grasping arms and legs to keep all the tubes floating together as one unit. We kept this up until the first rapids when at least half of the group capsized. Lots of splashing and laughing among us. I had a hell of a lot of fun. It was refreshing and peaceful as the current wasn’t very strong outside of the mild rapids and we mostly just drifted along. At the mid-way point we were able to get out for a break and I bought a spliff from a local Rasta who was chilling there on the riverbank. I took a quick stroll following a path into the bush with Yuri (one of the dancers) and we burned the spliff and I caught a nice little high. The remainder of the river ride was as tranquil as a big warm hug and I spent it absorbing all the vivid sounds, sights, and feelings that ganja brings – awesome!

By the time we were done with the ride the blue sky had faded into overcast. I was still stoned when we went to eat (fast food) and I munched down a great amount of it. Back onboard by 15:00 where I spent the rest of the afternoon burnt out in the cabin waiting until showtime to begin in the theatre.

The show was a split bill between a new comedian (really funny) and the Dale Scott magic show. Dale screwed up several times during the first seating run, including one of his major “illusions” and he was pretty humiliated. It made him look like a total failure and loser! I thought it was hilarious and soaked up every second of it. Great entertainment!

Spent the night in the cabin and crashed early – I can count on one fuckin’ hand how many nights I’ve had during this contract when I’ve done that. Asleep by 01:30.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment